Return to Headlines

STAR Students, Teachers Named for Henry County

Submission Date: March 22, 2022

Release Date:  For Immediate Release

Contact: J.D. Hardin, 770-957-6601 ext. 01161,

(Release # 0028-03-2022)

STAR Students, Teachers Named for Henry County

STAR Students, Teachers Named for Henry County

Union Grove senior earns highest SAT score, county title

HENRY COUNTY, GA – Wonuola Abiodun, a senior from Union Grove High School, has been named the overall STAR Student for Henry County as announced in a recent surprise visit by the Henry County Chamber of Commerce to her school.

Abiodun chose teacher Amanda McClure as her STAR Teacher for this co-honor, and the two will now move on to the regional portion of the statewide competition. Students earning the county’s STAR Student designation represent the highest score on the SAT among finalists from each high school – public and private – in Henry County.  This is McClure’s third time being chosen by a student for this honor and the second year in a row.

In addition to the overall winners being announced, STAR Students and STAR Teachers from all public and private high schools were notified of their schools’ honorees.

For a student to be a STAR Student at their respective high school, that student must have the highest SAT score and be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of the class based on grade point average.

With graduation right around the corner, Abiodun, an honor student, indicated that she has her plans and sights set on attending the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) to major in architecture. 

The Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE) Foundation, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, and the Georgia Department of Education sponsor the state STAR Program each year, but the Henry County Chamber of Commerce takes on the local recognition efforts with sponsorship support from various businesses in the community. 

This is the 64th year for the STAR program.  Since the beginning, the STAR program has recognized nearly 28,000 students and their teachers from around the state.

The Henry County STAR Students and Teachers are as follows:

-  Bible Baptist Christian School – Griffin Davis (student), Shane Roye (teacher)

-  Community Christian School – Aryan Mittal (student), Warren Kingsley (teacher)

-  Creekside Christian Academy – Aliya Murphy (student), Lewis Moye (teacher)

-  Dutchtown High School – Minh Le (student), Dr. Joanna Anglin (teacher)

-  Eagle’s Landing Christian Academy – Caden Young (student), Valerie Fields (teacher)

-  Eagle’s Landing High School – Asha Gopu (student), Claud Spinks (teacher)

-  Hampton High School – Reuben Johnson (student), Richard Majors (teacher)

-  Locust Grove High School – Ansley Standridge (student), Patrick Harp (teacher)

-  Luella High School – Hailey Bos (student), Dean Goldgar (teacher)                                       

-  McDonough High School – Jayden Hendrickson (student), Uriel Richardson (teacher)

-  New Creation Christian Academy – Anna Baldwin (student), Julie Hubener (teacher)

-  Ola High School – Avery Walker (student), Darlene Sabine (teacher)

-  Stockbridge High School – John Vu (student), Carl Lashley (teacher)

-  Strong Rock Christian School – Reagan Walker (student), Brook Smith (teacher)

-  Union Grove High School – Wonuola Abiodun (student), Amanda McClure (teacher)

-  Woodland High School – Jennifer Ngo (student), Kelly Vigon (teacher) TIE

                                             Devin Dwyer (student), Beth Gordon (teacher) TIE

For more information on the STAR Student Program, visit  For more information on the Henry County Chamber of Commerce, visit