Return to Headlines

HCS Announces Educational Support Personnel of the Year for 2020

Submission Date: November 13, 2020

Release Date:  For Immediate Release

Contact: J.D. Hardin, 770-957-6601 ext. 161,

(Release # 0032-11-2020)

HCS Announces Educational Support Personnel of the Year for 2020  

HCS Announces Educational Support Personnel of the Year for 2020

McDonough Middle School paraprofessional earns district’s top honor

HENRY COUNTY, GA – Henry County Schools honored 61 of its Educational Support Personnel of the Year (ESPY) winners from all schools and departments across the district at a celebratory event on Tuesday, November 10, and named Annette Alexander the 2020 HCS Educational Support Personnel of the Year.

Alexander got her start in Henry County Schools at McDonough Middle School as a substitute, quickly impressing and making an immediate impact in the lives of students and on the community.  She eventually worked her way into a full-time position at the school.  She was in shock upon hearing her name announced as the winner, and the Interrelated Paraprofessional shared her humbleness after the ceremony concluded.

“I feel overjoyed,” said Alexander.  “It’s an amazing feeling I can’t even explain anymore.  Winning the first district ESPY means that now it is my turn to reach out and help others by giving back.  I love serving the community.”

The Educational Support Personnel of the Year recognition involves each school and department selecting their top support staff member at the conclusion of each school year, and those individuals are then eligible for the district’s award.  A selection committee had the tough task of whittling the list down to just three finalists for this year’s overall winner.

Alexander was a finalist along with Premlata Miller (Counselor of the Year – New Hope Elementary) and Nathalie Sealock (Union Grove High School) for the first-ever district award for the top support personnel. 

The 2020 ESPY ceremony presenting sponsor was Southern Grace Hospice.  They contributed gifts to all honorees, including large gift baskets for the finalists and overall winner.  Other sponsors for this year’s event included Georgia United Credit Union, SCBTV, A T-Shirt Company, Kroger, Serendipity of McDonough, A-Mazing T-Shirts & Beyond, and Chic & Shabby.

The ceremony was held in a socially-distant fashion at the new Performing Arts Center – Fairview, and all guests in attendance were treated to lunch from The Varsity afterward.

“This year’s ESPY event was a perfect way to share our appreciation for the hard work and dedication that each one of our support staff and personnel members exhibits on a routine basis to support learning for all of our students,” said Superintendent Mary Elizabeth Davis.  “We truly have the best employees, and they deserve celebrations such as this for all they do.”

For more information on Henry County Schools, visit


Photo: (L-R) Superintendent Mary Elizabeth Davis, Nathalie Sealock (ESPY Finalist), Premlata Miller (ESPY Finalist), Annette Alexander (ESPY Winner), Sophe Pope (BOE Member - Dist. 4), Annette Edwards (BOE Member - Dist. 5), and Holly Cobb (BOE Vice-Chair - Dist. 3)