Return to Headlines

Three Title I Schools Earn Recognition from Department of Education

Submission Date: March 8, 2017


Release Date: For Immediate Release


Contact: J.D. Hardin, 770-957-6601 ext. 161,

(Release # 0030-3-17)


 Three Schools Receive Title I Recognition

Three Title I Schools Earn Recognition from Department of Education


HENRY COUNTY, GA – Henry County Schools has received notification that three Title I schools in the district have been named High-Progress Reward Schools by the Georgia Department of Education.


Only the top 10% of Title I schools in Georgia making the most progress in improving the performance of the “all students” group over a number of years on the statewide assessments are eligible for this recognition. 


Hickory Flat Charter, Mt. Carmel, and Rocky Creek, elementary schools were named to the list released on March 2. Only 162 schools from the state’s 180 school districts received the recognition.


Dr. Sandra Moore, Title I Coordinator for Henry County Schools, praised the schools receiving honors for their hard work.


“High-Progress Reward schools are recognized for their sustained growth in student achievement as evidenced with all students,” said Moore. “Our three schools recognized this year are outstanding examples of what collaboration and community support can do to help make positive impacts for students.”


According to the Georgia Department of Education, the Academic Achievement Awards Program is a rewards program for K-12 Title I schools and districts. To earn the awards, the schools or districts must display significant progress in improving student achievement and/or making significant progress in closing the achievement gaps. Scores from the CCRPI help determine the various schools receiving the honor.


“The schools honored this year continue a history of strong student performance for our Title I schools and their support in ensuring success for each student,” said Superintendent Rodney Bowler. “The students, staff, and community working together is essential to making the strides seen in these buildings, and I applaud the dedication shown by each group to increasing student achievement.”


Through a flexibility waiver gained by Georgia from the U.S. Department of Education, the previous Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished School and Distinguished District Award programs were changed to the current Reward School and Reward District awards. These award programs all come from Georgia’s Title Programs Division.


For more information on Henry County Schools, Title I schools, and the three schools recognized from Henry County, visit