Return to Headlines

STAR Students, Teachers Named in Henry County

Submission Date: February 13, 2019

Release Date:  For Immediate Release

Contact: J.D. Hardin, 770-957-6601 ext. 161,

(Release # 0022-2-19)

2019 STAR Students  

STAR Students, Teachers Named in Henry County

Public and private school students to be honored Friday, February 15

HENRY COUNTY, GA – The Henry County Chamber of Commerce’s Education Committee is set to recognize 16 students and their chosen teachers at the annual Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) breakfast.  The students and their teachers were notified recently of this grand academic achievement.

The Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE) Foundation, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, and the Georgia Department of Education sponsor the STAR program each year, but each local chamber of commerce takes on the local recognition ceremony with sponsorship support from various businesses in the community. 

This year’s event will take place at Eagle’s Landing Country Club at 8 a.m. on Friday, February 16.  The 2019 student and teacher honorees, along with their families and school administrators, will be treated to breakfast and a program honoring their hard work in school. 

In order to be selected as the STAR Student for one’s high school, a high school senior must have the highest score on the SAT and be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of the class based on grade point average.

Each STAR Student also gets the opportunity to select a STAR Teacher to be honored alongside the student at the recognition event.  This teacher is usually the one who has had the most influence on the student’s academics in a school setting.  Students and teachers honored at the school level then have the chance to compete for the overall county STAR title.  If one earns the county-level title, then that student and teacher move forward to one of eight regional competitions and then possibly the state competition.

This is the 61st year for the STAR program.  Since the beginning, the STAR program has recognized more than 24,000 students and their teachers from around the state.

The Henry County STAR Students and Teachers are as follows:

-  Bible Baptist Christian School – Louange Amemegbaleo (student), Jennifer Bass (teacher)

-  Community Christian School – Chloe Gilkesson (student), Beth Burer (teacher)

-  Creekside Christian Academy – Mikaela Relford (student), Felicia Courtland (teacher)

-  Dutchtown High School – Torren Thomas (student), Rajeswari Narasimhan (teacher)

-  Eagle’s Landing Christian Academy – Dhruti Trivedi (student), Judith Lockhart (teacher)

-  Eagle’s Landing High School – Raena Prude (student), Chansi Coleman (teacher)

-  Hampton High School – Julia Underwood (student), Sean Brumfield (teacher)

-  Henry County High School – Eyoel Betre (student), Uriel Richardson (teacher)

-  Locust Grove High School – Joshua Duffey (student), Shelia Gatlin (teacher)

-  Luella High School – Matthew Grant (student), David Collart (teacher)

-  New Creation Christian Academy – Jaron Anderson (student), Bonnie Gardner (teacher)

-  Ola High School – Emma Stacey (student), James McDonald (teacher)

-  Stockbridge High School – Maxwell Askew (student), Joy Hebert-Woodward (teacher)

-  Strong Rock Christian School – Matthew McCracken (student), Nathan Boles (teacher)

-  Union Grove High School – Kyle Carden (student), Rita Prescott (teacher)

-  Woodland High School – Hannah Perryman (student), Cassaundra Bell (teacher)

For more information on the STAR Student Program, visit


Photos: STAR Students and Teachers