• Required Testing at LHS 


    Georgia High School Writing Tests (GHSWT) 

    All students will continue to take the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) and are require to pass this test in order to obtain a high school diploma.  (This test is first given to students after they become a Junior)


    End of Course Tests (EOCT) (Being replaced soon by another new test)

    The A+ Educational Reform Act of 2000,O.C.G.A. §20-2-281, mandates that the State Board of Education adopt end-of-course assessments in grades nine through twelve for core subjects to be determined by the State Board of Education. With educator input, and State Board approval, the End-of-Course Assessment program is therefore comprised of the following eight content area assessments:


    • Mathematics
      • Coordinate Algebra 
      • Analytic Geometry
    • Social Studies
      • United States History
      • Economics/Business/Free Enterprise
    • Science
      • Biology
      • Physical Science
    • English Language Arts
      • Ninth Grade Literature and Composition
      • American Literature and Composition 


    What is the purpose of the EOCT?

    Improved teaching and learning is the main focus of Georgia’s education system. The EOCT is aligned with the Georgia curriculum standards and includes assessment of specific content knowledge and skills. The assessments provide diagnostic information to help students identify strengths and areas of need in learning, therefore improving performance in all high school courses and preparing students for their next step in education or the world of work.   These test comprise 20 percent of a students grade for the course.