• Welcome to the Woodland High School English Department's Webpage!
     

    “If students are to make knowledge their own, they must struggle with the details, wrestle with the facts, and rework raw information and dimly understood concepts into language they can communicate to someone else. In short, if students are to learn, they must write.”

                                                                                        - National Commission on Writing

     
    The WHS English teachers believe we have the best students in the state of Georgia! Thank you, Wolfpack, for your dedication to your education and your preparation for your life as a well-educated person! Remember our mantra: Read! Read! Read!
     
     
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 
     
    The English Department currently offers: 
     
    Ninth Grade Literature and Composition (9th Grade) 
     
    World Literature and Composition (10th Grade)
     
    American Literature and Composition (11th Grade) 
     
    British Literature and Composition (12th Grade) 
     
     
     
    Honors sections are offered for all levels.
     
    Juniors may also take AP Language and Composition.
     
    Seniors may also take AP Literature and Composition.
     
    The Woodland High School English department curriculum is governed by the Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE) that can be found on the Georgia Department of Education Website under GSE.
     
     
    Please contact your child's teacher as necessary throughout the school year.
     
    Woodland High School English department members and the courses they will teach during the 2022-2023 school year:
     
     
    Benjamin Rawlins, AP Language & Composition (11th Grade) and Honors 11th Grade Literature and Composition and General American Literature and Composition; benjamin.rawlins@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Tanisha Gulledge, General 9th Grade Literature and Composition; tanisha.gulledge@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Khadija Rivera, World Literature and Composition (10th Grade), British Literature and Composition (12th), and Yearbook; khadija.rivera@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Beth Gordon, AP Literature and Composition (12th Grade) and Honors British Literature and Composition (12th); beth.gordon@henry.k12.ga.us 
     
    Leandra Roberts, Honors 9th Grade Literature and Composition and General 9th Grade Literature and Composition; leandra.roberts@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Erika Orr, Reading Resource and Personalized Learning Academy (11th Grade); erika.orr@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Dameka Whitehead, Honors World Literature and Composition (10th Grade) and General World Literature and Composition (10th Grade); dameka.whitehead@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Darrah Johnson, General American Literature and Composition (11th grade); darrah.johnson@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Quiana Waldon, British Literature (12th grade); quiana.waldon@henry.k12.ga.us
     
    Tamara Richardson, Resource American Literature and Composition (11th Grade); tamara.richardson@henry.k12.ga.us
     
     
    Department Contact information:
    Quiana Waldon ELA Department Chair
    quiana.waldon@henry.k12.ga.us
Last Modified on April 21, 2023