• A little about who I am and where I've been.

    I grew up in Southern Indiana. After graduating high school, I ventured out to see what the world had to offer. In 1982 I graduated from Kellogg Community College with an Associate's Degree in Dental Hygiene. I was living in Michigan at the time and the economy was starting a financial spiral so I decided to join the United States Army because there was a long waiting list for females to join the Air Force. In 1983 I began my career in the Army as a Medical Laboratory Technician. I spent 20 years in the Army traveling with my sons living in San Antonio, Texas; Fort Lee, VA; Buffalo, New York; Washington, D.C. and Germany. It was a very life changing experience not only for me but my sons as well. 

    While in the Army, I obtained a Bachelors Degree in Occupational Education and a Master's in Health Services Management. After retiring from the Army, I decided I wanted to teach so I received my Bachelors of Science Degree majoring in Biology from the University of Texas at San Antonio. Upon completion of this degree I made the decision to return to Indiana to be closer to my family settling in Indianapolis.  I applied to and was accepted into the Woodrow Wilson Fellowship Program where I obtained my Master's in Education. During my student teaching I was assigned to a high school and was offered a teaching position after a teacher decided to retire. 

    My teaching career includes 5 years teaching high school Science--Biology, Anatomy & Physiology, Human Body Systems, Medical Interventions, and Biomedical Innovations. I also was given the opportunity to develop and teach Study Skills to Freshmen. I taught 7th grade Science for 1 year before accepting a teaching position with the Peace Corps in South Africa. I taught English in a primary school in South Africa for 2 years. Upon returning to the US in 2019, I decided to move to McDonough where I accepted a position at EXCEL Academy to teach high school Science. This is my second year at EXCEL and it is a fulfilling position to be able to work with the students that come to the school. I also teach English to Chinese students when I'm not teaching at EXCEL. 

    In my free time I like spending time with my family, cooking, traveling, listening to music, watching sports (football and basketball) and shopping. I have 2 sons and 3 Grandchildren.