• Young Georgia Author's Competition

    The Department of ELA is happy to host a district-level Young Georgia Author's Competition.  The competition is open to all students in grades K-12.  Each school may submit one winner per grade level to the district level of competition.


    Guidelines for the YGA competition can be found below. Please pay careful attention to all rules to prevent students from being disqualified.

    YGA Guidelines 

    School Level Winner Form

    District Level YGA Winners 2019

    Kindergarten: Colton Reeves, Hampton Elementary Charter School

    1st Grade: Sabian Saxby, Red Oak Elementary School

    2nd Grade: Sage Gibson, New Hope Elementary School

    3rd Grade: Aniya McMillan, Pate’s Creek Elementary School

    4th Grade: Givanna Mitchell, Red Oak Elementary School

    5th Grade: Kaelen Ellison, Fairview Elementary School

    6th Grade: Catey Gulsby, Woodland Middle School

    7th Grade: Avera McMillan, Union Grove Middle School

    8th Grade: Paige Murray, Woodland Middle School

    9th Grade: Dylan Lewis, Henry County High School

    10th Grade: Abigail Watkins, Locust Grove High School

    11th Grade: Greer Christy, Union Grove High School

    12th Grade: Faith Glasgow, Locust Grove High School