User Options
Local School Council

The A+ Education Reform Act of 2000 established school councils in Georgia to "bring communities and schools closer together in a spirit of cooperation to:

  • solve difficult education problems,
  • improve academic achievement,
  • provide support for teachers and administrators, and
  • bring parents into the school-based decision-making process.
School councils provide recommendations and assistance to principals and local boards of education.  The law details the composition of the council, its responsibilities, and procedures for conducting business. Local school councils are composed of at least seven members including the principal, two certified teachers elected by the school's teachers, and parents and community business people. 
2016-2017 School Council Members 
Kim Johnson, Parent 
Sloane Jinks, Parent 
Natalie Sledge, Parent  
Laurie Watkins, Parent
Rosemary Ahonen, Teacher
Kevin Bagley, Teacher 
David Shedd, Principal 
Last Modified on July 16, 2016