User Options

Georgia Milestones Assessment System

The Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones) is a comprehensive summative assessment program for grades 3 through high school; the assessments measure how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  High school students will take an end-of-course assessment for each of the eight courses designated by the State Board of Education.

The Georgia Milestone Assessment System include:

·         open-ended (constructed-response) items in language arts and mathematics (9th Grade Lit., American Lit. (11th Grade), Coordinate Algebra (9th Grade) and Analytic Geometry (10th Grade)

·         a writing component (in response to passages read by students) in 9th Grade Lit and American Lit. courses

·         norm-referenced items in all content areas and courses, to complement the criterion-referenced information and to provide a national comparison; and

·         transition to online administration over time; 30% of the students being tested must take the assessment online this year


What content areas and grade levels are tested?

Students in grades 3 through 8 will take an end-of-grade assessment in the content areas of language arts, mathematics, science, social studies.  The assessments will be administered in December (Economics and students who complete the Semester B portion of the courses listed below) and May this school year in the following eight courses :

·         Language Arts

·         Ninth Grade Literature and Composition

·         American Literature and Composition

·         Mathematics

·         Coordinate Algebra

·         Analytic Geometry

·         Science

·         Physical Science

·         Biology

·         Social Studies

·         United States History

·         Economics/Business/Free Enterprise

The end-of-course measures are administered at the completion of the course, regardless of the grade level. These measures serve as the final exam for the course, and contribute 20% to the student’s final course grade.  Each school district selects a local testing window, based on their local school calendar, from within the state-designated testing window.
Important Links